Farm Life

Today I wold like to blog about the benefits to growing up on a farm, and how it has contributed to the person I am today.

I was raised on a farm about 15 minutes from the closest town and 30 minutes from an actual city. All my life I was able to enjoy the many wonderful things about living in a rural community; no neighbors within walking distance, plenty of open space to run around in, animals to play with, and stars to light up the sky at night.

But I will have to say the greatest thing about living on a farm would be the strong family bonds that are created. My family is the center of my world and I owe all my successes in life to the support that comes from home. Now living in a college dorm in the middle of a busy city I have come to appreciate all the lessons I learned on the farm and can say they have made me into the individual I am today.

I am going to list the five most important things living on a farm has given me, and feel free to comment on any one of them.

1) Love

My ability to love was shaped on the farm. I got to experience the love between a family, the love between humans and animals, and the love within a community.

2) Passion

My passion for agriculture started on the farm and has now grown to include many different types of agriculture. Such as production agriculture, industrial agriculture, crop agriculture, agricultural communications, and many agricultural organizations.

3) Room to Grow

On a farm mistakes are going to happen. When growing up in life mistakes are going to happen, but on a farm the mistakes can turn into life lessons.

4) A Home

My farm is my home, and the people and animals are my family. They are what is familiar, what is comforting and what I am proud of.

5) Way of Life

Farming is not just a way of life for the farmer, but for all of us. Everyone who eats, wears clothes, gets gas,  and has a home. Without those who farm, we would al be in trouble.

 

These were just a few main points that I will be expanding on in the near future, so stay tuned if you are interested in hearing the real details!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kephart8111
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 22:10:05

    These are some really great points about growing up on a farm. I too was raised in the rural area of our great nation! I have found that farmers are the back bone of the country. Your list of five things really hit home with me as well. great post about us farm kids!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Down on the Farm

poems about life on a farm..by Connetta Jean

countrycredence

My credence. My life. My story.

midwesternsass

Sassy Midwestern Agvocate

Its The Only Way I Know

And I Wouldn't Want It Any Other Way

breakingtheagstereotype

The life of a non-traditional Agriculture student

thesmallfarmlife

Living small, but sharing my big Love of farming

Goat Tales & Sweet Tea

Life in the Ozark Mountains

Escaping The Tower

breaking out of the agriculture sterotype

Atypical Aggie

My life as an irregular, non-conforming agvocate.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

