Optimism

The Story of Two Brothers

This story was told to me during my Agricultural Selling class by Professor Rodger Fent and I love it so much I can’t help but share it. It is the story of two brothers, the youngest being an optimist and the older being a pessimist.

It’s Christmas morning and the two brothers rush downstairs to the Christmas tree to see what gifts Santa had delivered during the night. The oldest brother gets to his present first and finds a brand new bike with all the latest gadgets. This brother grabs the bike and starts kicking it saying, “It’s purple and I HATE purple.”

The youngest boy has been waiting patiently but finally asks his parents where his present from Santa is. Their response is that it is back up at the top of the stairs waiting for him. The youngest boy runs up the stairs and discovers a large refrigerator box, and when he opens it up he finds that it is completely full of manure.

Without hesitating the youngest boy dove into the box. He was flailing around inside of it when his parents finally got to the top of the stairs and yelled, “What are you doing?!”

The boy’s response was simple, “With all this manure there’s just got to be a pony somewhere!!”

I chose to share this story on my blog because I think it is a humorous and fun way to remind others that it is always our choice whether to be blinded by the bad or to search for the good. As for my opinion I believe to never stop looking for the good, and to always put things into perspective.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tdunaway
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 02:51:55

    I happen to know Rodger Fent as both his son and daughter and law were my high school teachers and i can definitely see him telling this story. Some of our greatest gifts in life we overlook or under rate, I can really say that I could be that enthusiastic over manure but the message of the story is one that I should try to follow more often.

    Reply

  2. atypicalaggie
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 17:14:49

    I’m glad you got something out of the story as well, it really has a great perspective. And it is really cool that you know Mr. Fent as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Down on the Farm

poems about life on a farm..by Connetta Jean

countrycredence

My credence. My life. My story.

midwesternsass

Sassy Midwestern Agvocate

Its The Only Way I Know

And I Wouldn't Want It Any Other Way

breakingtheagstereotype

The life of a non-traditional Agriculture student

thesmallfarmlife

Living small, but sharing my big Love of farming

Goat Tales & Sweet Tea

Life in the Ozark Mountains

Escaping The Tower

breaking out of the agriculture sterotype

Atypical Aggie

My life as an irregular, non-conforming agvocate.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

